Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

Read the reviews-- UoPH is awful!!!!!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - February 12, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please read all of the reviews--- I totally agree; going to Phoenix was the biggest mistake I ever made. The enrollment advisors lure you in, and fail to provide pertinent information. If for some reason you need to discontinue your course even within the first week, this joke of a school charges you, without even warning you prior. Utterly amazed at their sheer lack of ethics! Horrible experience; I should have paid more attention to the reviews before I wasted my time and money at this institution!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding !

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - August 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In general I thought this program was outstanding. I enrolled here to finish my BS in marketing. I thought the classes were very challenging and I was able to retain the information very well. Which was the main thing I was worried about. I also love the technology they use as far as all the labs and centers for excellence. My academic advisor has been the best, I have had the same academic advisor and financial aide advisor since I have been enrolled here. Being a father of two and also serving active duty in the US Army I was able to complete all assignments and maintain a 3.8 GPA.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Better Than What I Expected

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - May 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had been out of school for over 17 years and realized it was time to get an education. I was so nervous to enroll in school since I did not know what to expect. I have relatives who received a degree through UOP. One became a high school social worker, and the other works with troubled teens. My experience at UOP has been pleasant. I am paying for my education, so when I run into problems with staff memebers (only 2 times in two years), I made phone calls and was a squeky wheel. Once I did that, things changed rather quickly, for the better. The economy is bad at the moment so I understand why many cannot find a job right away, but that's the economy's fault not the school's. I am about to finish my associate's program in July and then I will be pursuing my bachelor's degree through UOP. It is up to the individual to manage their time wisely, study, and do their homework and participation. It is like an ATM machine, you can only get out of it what you put into it. I will soon start to apply for internships so I can start gaining experience in my field.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - April 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great experience, have been attending since 2010 and if all goes as planned will graduate in 2013. University of Phoenix has its pros and it cons, just like any other school (even state run universities). People are worried about online vs. traditional universities, when in reality a lot of Universities such as UCLA have online degree programs, hybrid programs and even attending one evening a week programs. All I could recommend is for you to do your research attend the university that you feel will best help you accomplish your goals. After reading some of the other comments about University of Phoenix, all I could say is take irresponsibility about some of your problems and stop blaming others. I am not saying that some staff members don't drop the ball but overall its your education and your money, so YOU need to stay on top of the issue and get it resolved.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - April 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended University of Phoenix since 2010, my experience has been great. It is not perfect, but faculty and staff do what they can to assist you. If all goes well I will be graduating with my Bachelors in Business Summer 2012. My advise to anyone planning on going back to school is to be responsible and ask questions, do your research on the University you are planning to attend. Every school has its pros and its cons, even state run Universities.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Happy with the experience

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - September 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I not only attended the University but was also an employee for over 18 months. I had been to several schools before settling at UOP and I truly believe that my experience at UOP trumped any of the other schools I attended. I was able to still work, travel and be with my family. I found the activities and projects were very applicable about 90% of the time. Yes, there is dead weight in the classes but there is dead weight anywhere you go. I only had one instructor that I felt was a complete moron and that suspicion was confirmed when I saw him working as a checker at Sam's Club several months later. You get out of it what you put in. Through my employment there I was impressed with the genuine concern of the staff in dealing with students. I never felt as though I was instructed to mislead a student or "sell" them on the school. I found a better work opportunity and left the school under good terms. I am currently working on my MBA through UOP and should graduate in a year. Yes, and degree from UOP may not be looked upon as highly as a traditional school but you would be surprised to see how many executives have taken classes at UOP and will not mock your degree. The perception of the school has changed over the years and I would say if you are on the fence to go for it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Bus / Marketing major 2007

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - April 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the worst University. I felt UOP was nothing but a cash machine, they sign you up and you are on your own. I was treated horribly by the financial counselours. I had 7 different financial counselours and 6 different academic counselours during my two years there, the confusion was of the charts. UOP does not have any qualified teachers, they hire some executive who has a job and a degree and no time to help the students. It is a shame as this University has state of the art technology and this could be one of the best Universities, but as anyone can attest by the excessive marketing of UOP that marketing themselves is the only thing they are good at. I have succesfully talked a few people out of attending this joint. There are several good on-line Universities out there, UOP just happens to be the worst with one of the highest price tags.

Was this review helpful?

UOP - Good education but at a price

Bachelor of Science in Business/Marketing - August 9, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose University of Phoenix because it fit well with my schedule and allowed me to complete my bachelor's degree realtively quickly (3 years) compared to night classes at a local university. The format was good, I got a lot out of the class discussions. The downside is the cost (expensive). In addition, UOP has been making some bad publicity lately which I hope doesn't tarnish the value of my degree over the years. I would also like to see them tone down the advertising some, as I think this takes away from their perceived educational value. If I had it to do over again, I think I would have went somewhere else...not because the education was bad, but because there are so many more programs and schools available online now compared to back when I started. However, if you're considering UOP, it might be right for you. It's not right for everbody, but it does have its value.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.