Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

It is good, but that was back in 2003

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - February 10, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I could not attend the schedules of the brick and mortar schools back in 2003 because I traveled all the time, and only UoP had a decent program that I could do online. Everyone else was still experimenting on undergrad degrees. Basically the decision was tied to it being listed as an accredited institution in my research. The curricula was legit, the reading and writing was intense, and I admit that I learned a lot. Much of it was from the fact that I had to read and research and write papers. But the key was that I was FORCED to read and research and write papers and I was accountable to the instructor. At the end of it, I had a degree. What I learned certainly helped me in my work and daily decision making personally. It was expensive, but I did get a bump in my salary not too long after the degree. Was it because of it? I don't know. But other schools started to join the online option about 4 years after I started mine. Would I do it again? With the same circumstances yes. But today with the other traditional schools on board, no. UoP is very expensive. But back then, it was pretty much the best option (or maybe the only one) I could use.

Was this review helpful?

A very fair school!

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - January 21, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have five remaining classes toward my MBA w/ Technology. I worked hard for the grades I received resulting in a 3.61 GPA Rarely did I have a class that was a cakewalk. I read all the chapters. You get what you pay for. I do recommend this school.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

joke. For Profit = No Education. Not even AACSB accredited

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - January 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is the absolute WORST. It charges too much for an education you can get in High School. Book reports and posting on message boards is not a college education. All HR departments I've dealt with consider this "not a real degree"; and an HR friend of mine says they actually throw away the resumes of those with UOP stink on them. This school isn't even AACSB accredited. I highly recommend go to your local state school instead of this for-profit rip off.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Rip off - don't go here

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - September 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is not worth it. It charges way too much for the mediocre education it gives. My advisor lied to me about my 'grants'. Instead I was roped into student loans. The way i understand it - theses 'advisors' get a commission for each sucker they sign up to UOP. So as long as you qualify for a loan, you qualify for UOP. The classes were so freaking easy, I really could't believe I was taking 'Masters level' courses. Some of my crappy public high school classes were harder / more rigorous. Also, sometimes I turned in some pretty bad papers (rushed, real life getting in the way) and would receive As everytime. These are papers I expected to get at lease a C or below. I have figured out that this school is just a "FOR PROFIT" business out to fleece America and the Americans that live in it. Most of the HR departmets I've talked with won't even consider UOP grads because of UOPs crappy rep. I really feel like I have been cheated. I may default on my loans to UOP as well. I sense the next big "bubble" is the student loan bubble spearheaded by UOP. The best advice I can give is go anywhere else but here.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

2000 grad

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - September 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A good program for those seeking knowledge in this very specialized area. The amount you learn is up to you. The books and lecture materials are top rate. Not a good program for those who try to determine the minimum required to pass (you'll pass, but learn almost nothing).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

This school ruined my resume - a stain

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - September 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having this school on my resume made me the laughing stock by some of my interviewers. I got a lot of "oh you went there...hmm", and "ughhh...I'm not sure we're interested in UoP grads". This school has ruined education, and pretty much my life. I will never trust UoP. I recommend all to steer clear and go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

No Quality

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - May 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you look for quality, then stay away from UOP. Instructors are border line incompetent, cannot solve simple problems, waste student time, do NOT adhere to published syllabus .... Administration will NOT support the student on academic issues, will change policies to their desire, sweep the issues under the rug totally unprofessional. only thing they care is that the student will get through the program i.e. pay the tuition. $$$ is the only thing they care - you are buying your degree. Ask yourself the question - " if someone that can barely speak english, has no math skills, no logical skills, etc. that gets the same degree as you then what value such degree has?" ITS A DEGREE FOR SALE!!!

Was this review helpful?

Worthwhile Experience

Master of Business Administration/Technology Management - February 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began my Master's program with some scepticism but it was quickly removed. My instructors did an excellent job of challenging me to deliver products with a higher level of writing quality, as well as critical thinking supported by the course concepts. I'm a solid self-starter so I was able to keep up. The only downside I can think of is the learning teams. Most of them were stocked with people who could carry their load and work will with anyone. There were a couple of exceptions though that made me want to quit the program. I can honestly say that in one serious case the instructor stepped in and dealt swiftly with the antagonist, who was clearly out of line. Overall, I'm quite proud of my accomplishment and my salary has increased by 35% since. Not a single HR manager or hiring manager or director, nobody, has scoffed at my degree. Why? Because once you explain how you got your degree on your own time over 2.5 years while juggling work, kids, bills, and the world in general they can't think of anything negative to say. If they did I'd question whether or not they had their MBA. Most don't. The course was worth it!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.